Pick Your Path

“The only thing worse than setting the wrong direction is having no direction” – Jim Rohn

This is one of those lessons I learned the hard way. For 2 years, being directionless taught me not only will you not be an achiever if you have no goals, you will quickly become depressed. Before 16 years old, I never knew why we needed goals and why the lack thereof is so anxiety inducing.

If you’re reading this, I know you can relate. A lack of clarity and direction produces uncertainty. Go back to a time in your life when you were down. There’s a high probability you were confused about your direction. You questioned yourself, why you’re here and what you’re truly passionate about.

My goal is to help you avoid my path. For 2 years I had no direction and it was a big mistake. What I was missing is that as a human being, I am obviously, as Doctor Maxwell Malts said, like a bicycle.

If a bicycle isn’t headed towards something, or moving forward, it loses it’s equilibrium and it will fall over. Well you and I are designed exactly like that emotionally. When I was 16, I wasn’t moving towards anything. No direction. No purpose. No goals. What I’ve come to realize is that at any point in my life where I’ve lacked this clarity, of knowing that I was going towards something, my life fore, our life force, and our energies are kind of just splintered and splattered. And we cannot produce results like that. Fuck, we can’t be happy like that.

So why set goals? Why have a clear direction? Because it is consistent with our nature. Remember the bicycle? Because it garners and focuses our energies to get things done.

You know what happens when you set goals and focus on something that you want? When we’re focused, in your sleep, we begin to create blue prints in our subconscious to achieve what we want next!

“Our subconscious is either our best friend or our greatest enemy”

We’ve all experienced this. I remember being back in High School and having a test the next day. I studied all night for math and often wouldn’t be able to solve a few problems. When I went to bed I didn’t have the answer. But, when I woke up in the morning I knew exactly which direction to take it. I had the answer.  The subconscious is amazing, once it knows what we want ,our mind must align with what we want and help us get it.

On the other hand, there’s a downside to that. The downside is when I was 16 with no direction, my mind just sat idly,  focusing on anything that came into my experience because it didn’t know what I wanted! My subconscious said,

“well it looks like Jonathan doesn’t want anything, so let’s give him a whole bunch of things he may not want. Because it’s clear he doesn’t want anything!”

The next thing that shows up? You guessed it. It’s uncertainty, anxiety, and confusion. Why did those emotions show up? Why do they show up for you? Their warning signs. We’re out of sync! I wish I could give my 15 year old self this talk. Jonathan, you’re depressed and out of sync because you’re like a bicycle. You need to keep moving. You need to set some goals in alignment with improving your self-image.

But, instead, I’m taking that advice now and I’m also giving it to you.

Do this:

Set a direction. Set a few goals and take action towards it’s accomplishment. Write them down. Share them with your accountability partner and work towards those aims as a team. Finally, stay tuned for my next post as I dive deeper into setting intelligent goals.

Remember, don’t get hung up on carving out the perfect path. Firstly, there is more than one path to the same outcome. Don’t let that be your excuse to not get started. And more importantly, the only thing worse than the wrong direction, is no direction. 

Till next time, stay on the offensive. Aggressively pursue a better version of yourself. And remember what Jim Rohn said, “You cannot change the destination of your life overnight, but you can change your direction”.

-J

Out.

1 thought on “Pick Your Path”

Leave a Reply

