Practicality of Positive Thinking

Courtesy of my favourite Google Chrome Plug In  Momentum, every morning I open my laptop, I’m presented with an inspirational picture and quote.

Blog picture- thinker prover

How appropriate that as I sat down this morning to write about the mind, our thoughts and ultimately how they dictate the success or failure of every facet of our life, Momentum gave me this quote,

“Don’t think about what might go wrong, think about what could be right.”

How true! But it’s not enough to understand this concept on a surface level. For you and I to take our health, wealth, relationships, or impact on this world to the next level we need internalize this as part of our belief system. Fundamentally, positive thinking is extremely practical. And while the mind and brain are extremely complex, my mentor George Zalucki broke it down for me so that it is simple to explain. He said the mind is made up of two parts, the thinker and the prover.

The thinker thinks. 

The prover proves. 

What does the prover prove? Simple, whatever the thinker thinks! This is why positive thinking is so fucking practical! Let’s explore two examples:

A) I can’t do it. That is my thought. Now, the proving part of my mind must bring into my experience the actual events and criteria that say’s, you’re right! You can’t do it…

The thinker thinks and the prover proves.

B) I can do it. That is my thought. The thinker thinks, what must the prover prove? The prover must bring into my experience all of the events and criteria that say’s, you’re right! You can do it…

The thinker thinks and the prover proves.

Simple right? Here’s where it becomes a challenge, most of our thoughts are unconscious. That means that 95% of my life is run by my subconscious programming! When I started to take a more positive direction in my life, I had to become conscious of every thought coming from my thinker!

What do you think my prover said to me through 18 years of thinking: I’m not good enough, I’m not smart enough, I’m not good looking enough, your voice is too feminine, your nose isn’t symmetrical, you can’t be a public speaker, I’ll always be a runner up, there’s no point of living? You guessed it… It said, you’re right! 

When I started to consciously think more positive thoughts, my life change was dramatic. For example, at 18 my parents forced me to start working with them on their business. Forced WAY out of my comfort zone, I was asked to speak in public, to sell and share the companies story. If I let my subconscious do the thinking for me… My prover would have slapped me in the face with massive failure.

Instead, I thought, I can do this, I deserve this, I’m confident, I have what it takes, I know the information, I will be charming and charismatic and they will love me. Guess what happened? Surprise, surprise, my prover brought into my life all of the experiences that were in exact agreement with the thinker.

I started to gain momentum. My self-esteem sky rocketed. I was asked to speak more and more. Eventually, my subconscious thoughts became empowering and self-serving. I’ll be forever grateful for those months and years of consciously focusing on positive thoughts.

“Thinking about what could go right changed my life.”

Do this: Choose two new empowering thoughts that you will repeat consciously. When something outside your comfort zone presents itself, remember those thoughts. Repeat them to yourself. Yell out loud, I CAN do it! And like magic, you’ll gain the strength you need, like I have, to overcome all obstacles.

Till next time, stay on the offensive. Aggressively purse a better version of yourself. And remember what Jim Rohn said, “You cannot change the destination of your life overnight, but you can change your direction”.

-J

Out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Practicality of Positive Thinking”

Leave a Reply

