3 Pillars of Positive Life Direction

For almost 3 years, I’ve been living with a real sense of direction. But, it took me many mistakes and many years to find out what works best…  For me. My intention is to share how I went from BROKE mentally, physically and financially to positive, energized and financially secure.
In my first blog post I described in detail my struggle with drug abuse, depression and a persistent anxiety. Today I want you to think about applying a simplified version of what bridged the gap between where I was and where I am now. My 3 pillars of positive life direction are community, exercise and being like Frankenstein.
Community 
community-for-blog-2
I was lucky enough that I have two of the most amazing parents anyone could ever ask for. Around 17 they started their own business. A couple months in, they were inviting me out to every event. For 6 months my community was shifting. Years of spending time with a group of drug abusing, underachieving guys was changing. Instead it was clear my new parents partners (and my new friends) were sharp, positive examples. After 6 months it is virtually impossible to stay depressed. When everyone in your circle is positive, confident and trying to get better, you can’t help but feel better. Personal development Guru Jim Rohn said,
“You become the average of the five people you send the most time with”
I became positive, confident and uplifted through my association with positive, confident and uplifting people. How practical is that?
Do this. Intentionally write down who are the 5-10 people you spend the most time with. Ask yourself if this relationship is rising me up or sinking me down? Make the decision today to only allow positive influences into your life and you will instantly DESERVE a better life direction.

Exercise

workout-for-2nd-blog

To get out of my mind, I had to get into my body. Working out consistently was one of the best habits I’ve developed in my life. At 17, and only a few weeks in, I realized that I started feeling stronger. Physically, mentally, and emotionally. It helped me build back my confidence. It gave me energy that I hadn’t felt since long before my depression. It made me happy. This works.

Many people believe that your thoughts create your emotions, which is true. But, equally true is that motion creates emotion.

Believe me, if you have any intentions of changing the direction of your life, get out of your head and into your body. Use your motion to cultivate the emotions of strength, confidence, and power.

Do This. Preferably with a buddy, plan and go to the gym 3-4 days a week minimum. When you’re first getting started feel free to be there 5-7 days a week. But, as you progress and feel better (you will feel better) choose a schedule that is more sustainable like 4 days.

Be Like Frankenstein

be-like-frankenstein-for-2nd-blog
Me on stage delivering my award winning speech “Be Like Frankenstein”
Looking back on my life I’ve always experienced self limiting beliefs. Comparing myself to others made me think I wasn’t good enough. It was a nasty habit. Instead of aspiring to be better, I became bitter.
But, at 18 my community had changed, and slowly, so had my direction. Becoming like Frankenstein was a subconscious decision. It means picking and choosing and taking from people you admire. It means that I had to stop viewing others as better than me and start turning the envy I felt into inspiration. I was stealing the qualities that I appreciated about others and blending them into my own life. I started with how my community dressed. Then, I moved on to how they spoke. Finally I was emulating their behaviours. It was simple really. At this point the difference in my confidence, my communication skills, and my positivity was dramatic. I was a new man.
It didn’t happen over night. Changing your direction takes time, energy, and intention. But, it’s fucking worth it. 
Do This. Intentionally steal one quality that you admire about a positive influence in your life. It could be how they dress. They talk. How they treat others. Their patience. Behaviours. Anything! Commit for one week to emulating that quality and intentionally practicing it everyday.
3 Pillars of Positive Life Direction
Surround yourself with an amazing community, get out of your mind and into you body and finally become like frankenstein, because if you do, I promise, you won’t change the destination overnight, but you will quickly change your direction.

Email me at mrjfandrews@gmail.com and share with me your plans of positive life change! Till next time, stay on the offensive. Aggressively pursue a better version of yourself. And remember what Jim Rohn said, “You cannot change the destination of your life overnight, but you can change your direction”.

– J

Out.

3 thoughts on “3 Pillars of Positive Life Direction”

Leave a Reply

